Jessica's Mumbo Jumbo

Take a glimpse into the world of an inattentive, oversensitive,hyperactive,& unorganized 33 year old mother with Attention Deficit Disorder!

Blonde Moments

I am a special education teacher who truly loves what I do. Each and everyday I walk into my classroom and I look past all of my students’ imperfections. I do not look at the kid who the other teachers fear that they will get on their roster come the beginning of September, but I look at that kid as a challenge. One of my more challenging kids, who is judged and labeled as being “crazy” and “bad” is personally one of my favorite kids.

He does what other people do not have the balls to do. He does not follow rules and defies authority. He speaks what is on his mind–to the point where it actually gets him into trouble. I have been cursed of by this student, and most teachers ask why I have not given up on him. They question, why do I even try or care? They say that I will never be able to reach him. I say I know I can. And I have.

Well, the other day, he said something that really made me laugh. He raised his hand and our conversation went sorta something like this: (obviously I am using pseudonyms to avoid criticism and getting in trouble!):

Greg: ::raises hand::

Mrs. Teacher: Yes, Greg?

Greg:Uhmmmmm… Mrs. Teacher,I just wanted to let you know …Uhmmm… that…

Mrs. Teacher: That… what is it Greg?

Greg: That you are really smart. You have your days when you are teaching and I think to myself, wow, Mrs. Teacher sure is one smart lady. But then …… I … uhmmm…..

Mrs. Teacher: You…. what Greg?

Greg: Well, don’t take this the wrong way, Mrs. Teacher, but you have your blonde moments.

Mrs. Teacher: Blonde moments? What do you mean blonde moments?

Greg: Well, you know….blonde moments. I know you are a brunette and everything, but I sometimes wonder if you are a true blonde because you have these “duh” moments.

Mrs. Teacher: ::laughs::

Just thought this was funny!!! Had to share!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

